The Lab

Loading torpedoes – Fire!

Posted on: April 23, 2013

The following is based on true events

It’s afternoon in the office.  Four of us are quietly working away in our cubicles, when all of a sudden all hell breaks loose:

Me: Fire One! (lets one rip)

Ike: Uh oh, loading torpedoes!!! (pauses) Fire Two!! (belches)

Me: (I’m giggling, so another one slips loose) whups, fire three!

Meerkat: Ewwwwww! You guys!!!!

Me: Tee-hee!

Ike: (innocently) What?

(Suddenly a strange smell begins to permeate the room)

Meerkat: (sniffing) Oh my god, was that YOU?  It smells like something died!

Me:  I don’t smell anything.  Besides, it couldn’t be me.  My farts smell like rainbows and flowers and unicorns.

Ike: Kinda smells like fish.  And maybe sour milk

Me: (the smell finally reaches me, my eyes begin to tear up) Guys, what IS that?

Ike: Al, do you smell that?

(No response)

Ike: Al?

(No response)

Me: AL!!!

Al: Huh?  What?  Sorry, Ipod.

Ike: Do you smell anything?

Al: Oh yeah, I just heated up my lunch

Meerkat: Oh my god, what are you eating?

Al: Just some left overs

Me: (feeling nauseated) What is it?

Al: Um, some fish and rice and veggies and stuff kinda thrown together

Ike: (Peers over his cubicle wall) Dude, is that milk?  And sardines?  What have you got in there?

Al: Yeah, milk and stuff.

Meerkat: It smells rotten!

Al: Well it’s been sitting out

Ike: Wait, you didn’t refrigerate it?

Al: No but it’s OK because I microwaved it.

Meerkat: How long has it been out for?

Al: Um, only a couple of days I guess

Ike: You sure you wanna eat that?

Me: Ok, we need to evacuate (begins to dry heave, runs out into hallway)

Ike: Run awaaay!

Al: (lets one rip) *tiny voice* excuse me!

Leave a comment